Pro Vice Chancellor

Professor. S. Sriman Narayanan has completed his B.Sc Degree in Chemistry from A.V.V.M. Sri Pushpam College, Poondi, Thanjavur in 1977 and obtained his M.Sc Degree in Analytical Chemistry from University of Madras in 1979 with University First Rank.

He obtained his Ph.D. Degree in Chemistry in 1983 from Indian Institute of Technology-Madras and was working as a Senior Scientific Officer in Chemical Engineering Education Development Centre at IIT-Madras for one year.

He joined as a Lecturer in the Department of Analytical Chemistry in July 1985, promoted as Reader in 1992 and then as Professor in 1998. He became the Head of the Department in 2012 and served for four years and then joined as UGC BSR Faculty fellow in 2016 and completed in June 2019

He was an INSA-DFG Exchange visitor at Humboldt University, Berlin for a period of three months in 1998. He was also a Visiting Professor to the Department of Bioengineering, Clemson University, USA for a period of two years during 2000-02. He has visited the National Taipei University of Technology, Taiwan as a Visiting Professor for three months in 2007.

He has served as a Dean – Research, University of Madras for a period of three years, as Coordinator of DST-PURSE Programme for five years, as Coordinator-RUSA Programme for one year. He was also serving as the Director of National Centre for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, University of Madras for one year. He was the Director, Guindy Campus, University of Madras for one year. He was a Member of Syndicate of the University of Madras, and served as a Member in the Syndicate Committee to look after the duties of the Vice-Chancellor in his absence.

He has received Tamil Nadu Scientist Award (TANSA) in Chemical Sciences in 2006 and was elected as a Fellow to Chennai Academy of Sciences. He is the President, Indian Society of Analytical Scientist, Chennai Chapter.

He has 140 research publications in peer reviewed journals, completed 12 projects, presented t 160 papers in conferences, received 13 best paper awards for paper presentations and 27 students have obtained their Ph.D. degrees under his guidance.